The history of St. Lucia island

Christopher Columbus named the island. It was a peaceful place, but it was later contested by the British and French. Throughout history, Saint Lucia has been the source of a great number of stories. Here is a brief history of this island. Originally named for the explorer Christopher Columbus, it was once a sliver of the Windward Islands, a group of tropical islands in the Caribbean.

Christopher Columbus named the island

Legend has it that Christopher Columbus discovered St. Lucia Island in 1502, but historians are now almost certain that the explorer never landed there. The small island that he named El Falcon, near Saint Lucia, is more likely the product of Columbus’ former navigator, Juan de la Cosa. Columbus’ second voyage to the Caribbean also included the island. But even with the island’s disputed history, Columbus has been credited with the name.

Columbus had originally planned to sail from Spain to India, but his journey did not go as planned. After all, he made contact with native peoples and never reached Spain. However, his voyage led to genocide, slave trade, and colonial wars. Today, we have two independent states named for Columbus. And while Columbus was once revered as a hero, the historical narrative of Columbus’ voyage focused on the damage he did to the native populations.

It was fought over by the British and French

Saint Lucia was a Caribbean island that changed hands many times during its history. The French first occupied it in 1650, and after settling on the island, the French fought off Carib attacks. The British claimed St. Lucia in 1659, and for nearly 150 years, each side controlled the island. Saint Lucia became known as the “Helen of the West Indies” – named for the Greek mythological figure Helen of Troy. After the French ruled the island for more than two centuries, the British finally gained it definitively in 1814. In 1834, St. Lucia gained independence and became a long-standing British colony.

While Columbus may have “discoveried” Saint Lucia, Europeans didn’t settle there until the 1500s. French explorer Francois Le Clerc, better known as Jambe de Bois, settled on Pigeon Island. After the British were forced to retreat to the island, the French were there with representatives of the French West India Company, who came to establish sugar plantations and enslave slaves.

It was a peaceful island

Historically, St. Lucia was an island inhabited by the Carib Indians. The Caribs claimed it as their own and had the island named Hewanarau. This name is the same as the island’s international airport, Hewanorra International Airport, which was established in 1742. Before Europeans took control of St. Lucia, it was inhabited by the Caribs. The island was considered strategically important by both Britain and France, because its deep water harbors offered ready protection for naval vessels. They also made it an excellent location to monitor the movements of enemy military forces in the Caribbean.

Saint Lucia was first inhabited by the Arawak people around two thousand years ago. The island was then occupied by the Caribs in the early 16th century, and they called it Hewanorra. In the late 1500s, the Caribs began to sell the island to Europeans, who renamed it St. Lucia. The island was then governed by the French and became a French colony.

It was a subgroup of the Windward Islands

The Caribs lived on the islands, which were largely untouched by European colonization after Columbus’s exploration. The British and French began colonizing the islands in the early seventeenth century and eventually established dominance over them. As part of the Anglo-French conflict, the Windward Islands saw several important naval battles. The Battle of St. Lucia took place off the coast of the island on 22 February 1782, and the outcome of the Battle had significant consequences for the future of European conflict.

The islands are situated on the eastern edge of the Caribbean Plate and are largely volcanic, with some coral contributions. These islands have warm and humid climates and are famous for their beautiful palm-fringed beaches. Most Windwards islands have a subtropical climate, although the eastern islands tend to receive more rainfall than the western ones. Hurricanes are also a threat between June and October.

It became independent in 1979

Saint Lucia is a sovereign Caribbean island, one of the last colonies of the British Empire to declare independence. In 1979, the island of St. Lucia became independent, a constitution was passed, and the island became a constitutional monarchy, part of the British Commonwealth. It is now a prosperous and peaceful island with a rich history and diverse culture. The island still retains strong Carib influences, although these have been melded with African cultures brought over during colonial times. The English and Dutch elements also continue to blend into the island’s culture.

The country’s population is diverse, with more than half of the people identifying themselves as Indians or Caribbean people. There is also a substantial number of white St. Lucians, comprising 0.61% of the population. The main religion in Saint Lucia is Christianity, with about 61.5 percent belonging to Roman Catholic churches and 25.8% belonging to Protestant denominations. The remaining population includes Seventh Day Adventists and Pentecostals, but there are also Baptists, Anglicans, and Jehovah’s Witnesses. The Rastafari movement is also adhered to on the island, while other religions include Hinduism, Buddhism, and Baha’s faith.